Weekend Things and 3 Smart Snack Recipes

Greeting friends!

Hope you had a great weekend! Let’s recap in reverse.

I spent Sunday studying and working on papers at the library. 75 days until graduation – whooo!

Saturday I went to see McFarland USA with some friends. SUCH a good movie. You should go see it. We also did a little grocery shopping and browsed Target where I tested my ability to stick to my budget. I was planning on buying the jelly beans, but walked out with a few extras…looks like I’m a work in progress.

On Friday night, I got to spend some time teaching college freshman about healthy snacking and dorm room cooking. While this may not sound like an ideal way to spend a Friday night to you, I get excited when I have the opportunity to share my knowledge with others and inspire them to get cooking (much like I do every time I sit down to write a new blog post)!

I gave a presentation about what makes up a healthy snack, we discussed our snacking habits and talked about how we could improve our choices, and of course, we made and sampled some scrumptious recipes.

All of the students were very interested in learning how to make healthy choices and how they could prepare some pretty delicious and nutritious options in their own dorm room. We made three easy, delicious and nutritous recipes, that require no cooking experience and can be made with ingredients found in a dorm room food stash or mini-fridge.

While I had college freshmen in mind when I prepared the presentation and chose the recipes, I realized we all need quick and energizing snack ideas and decided to share them with you!

Check out my slide deck to find out what to look for in a healthy snack, how to satisfy even the snackiest cravings, and for some new on-the-go and homemade snack ideas. Please keep in mind that the information I share in the presentation and on the blog are my opinions based on knowledge that I have gathered through my college coursework, research I have read, and on my own experiences. I am not a registered dietitian – at least not yet (but hope to be in a few years)!

Hungry right now?? Try one of these three snacks we whipped up in seconds!

Apple Nachos

Prep Time: 2 minutes – Cook Time: 0 minutes – Serves: 1

Ingredients:

1 apple thinly sliced (I like Granny Smith or Pink Lady)

1 ½ T natural almond butter

1 T raisins

2 T honey roasted peanuts or granola clusters

½ t cinnamon

1 T mini dark chocolate chips

Directions:

Spread apple slices on a plate. Drizzle almond butter over apples. Top with raisins, granola, and a sprinkle of cinnamon. Enjoy!

Banana Dog Bites

I like to call this twist on the classic PB-banana sandwich, banana sushi! Recipe via Weelicious.

I like to add a sprinkle of cinnamon granola before adding the banana to give this snack some crunch!

Peanut Butter Honey Yogurt Dip

Peanut Butter Honey Yogurt Dip on twopeasandtheirpod.com LOVE this easy #recipe!

This easy, 3-ingredient dip only takes about a minute to make and is so good I could eat it with a spoon. Recipe and photo via Two Peas & Their Pod

We enjoyed this dip with apple slices and pretzels – but it would also be excellent with some strawberries for a take on the classic PB&J flavor combo!

Are you a snacker? Or do you tend to stick to 3 square meals a day?

My snack schedule depends on my meal times and workouts, but I always need a bedtime snack! Nothing’s worse than waking up to a rumbling tummy in the middle of the night.

What is your go-to snack?

I love string cheese or cottage cheese paired with some fresh cut veggies or these granola bars from Running with Spoons – I like them straight from the freezer.

Check back soon for the second post in my Eat In, Save Dough series where I will dish on all the need-to-know info about meal planning and prep!

Leave a Reply

