Friday Faves #3

TGIF! While last week seemed to fly by, this one definitely dragged on. Maybe it had something to do with the cooler weather…but hey, at 40 degrees I’m not complaining.

What do you say we kick off this weekend right with a round of Friday Favorites! No fancy intro today – let’s just get to the good stuff.

  1. Whole Wheat Banana Blueberry Muffins. I baked up a batch of these a few weeks ago, when I was visiting home, to bring back and throw in my freezer. I have been zapping them in the microwave for a quick breakfast or throwing one in my bag, straight from the freezer, for a midday snack – it thaws perfectly by the time I am ready to eat it. I am still tweaking the recipe, but hope to share it on the blog soon! banana blueberry muffins

    blueberry banana muffins

    never. enough. bluebs.

  2. Mike & Ike Jelly Beans. While I am usually a Starburst Jellybean kind-of-gal, I saw these at the grocery store and should have resisted, but as a lover of both jellybeans and Mike & Ike’s, I just couldn’t (but they were on sale!). I have been snacking on a few as a post-dinner treat. I don’t really know how to describe them, but they have that chewy outside like a Mike & Ike, but the center of a jellybean. So good and so worth the $2 I wasn’t planning on spending. I also spotted a bag of Swedish Fish Jellybeans… I maaaay have to give those a try too before Easter! mike and ike jellybeans
  3. Carrots. It’s funny how I didn’t really like raw carrots until a few years ago. Now I can’t get enough of them. They are crunchy and sweet (and cheap), and just hit the spot when I am feeling munchy. Oh and they are delicious dipped in almond butter too. But I love ‘em cooked and roasted too! I loved this post from Hannah on how to roast whole carrots, like the big ones, not baby ones, and can’t wait to give it a try for myself.
Roasted Carrots 10

Make sure to go check out Hannah’s site – she has so many great healthy recipe ideas that are heavy on the veggies! Image source.

  1. Yoga. I never thought I would be a yogi. I had tried yoga here and there before, but could never just really get into it. But I wanted to give it one last try before I made up my mind. This semester I enrolled in a one-credit yoga class, thinking that this would be the perfect opportunity to test it out again. It took me a few weeks to get into it, but I am so glad I didn’t give up on yoga. I have really been enjoying my class and value the opportunity to connect my mind, body, and soul that yoga provides. Definitely going to keep up this routine long after the semester ends.

    Check out this great post from my classmate Deme discussing some of the many benefits of yoga! Image source.

  2. New magazines! I received three of my favorite foodie magazines in the mail this week and I cannot wait to read them cover-to-cover in search of some new recipes for spring, and maybe even Easter brunch!
magazines

Someday I dream of one of my recipes or articles making it into the likes of these pages!

I’ve got an internship project to work on, a nutritional sciences case study to finish up, and a midterm to study for this weekend…but that can wait, because tonight, I’ve got a basketball game to watch – Go Badgers!

Linking up with Heather again today – make sure to stop by her site to check out what other bloggers have been loving lately too!

What are your plans for the weekend?

A little March Madness, a lot of library time, and hopefully some time to hang out with friends and enjoy the weather.

Do you like jellybeans? What’s your favorite brand?

Along with Starburst and Mike & Ike jellybeans, I also love Jelly Bellies!

Do you still subscribe to mail delivery magazines or am I just old school?

4 thoughts on “Friday Faves #3

  1. Olivia Bane says:

    Mmm, I love whole wheat blueberry muffins! So yummy 🙂 I do the same thing of just taking a muffin/energy bite (or sometimes cookie hah) out of the freezer and sticking it in my lunchbox, and then it’s perfectly thawed in a couple hours. And I just pinned a recipe for roasted carrots just like that– I can’t wait to try it!

    Like

  2. Morgan says:

    I just found your blog, it’s so cute! I’ve been having a hard time finding other college bloggers in the ~2 months I’ve been blogging, so I was super happy to stumble upon it!

    Yoga is a wonderful thing, I couldn’t take it this semester with my schedule and I have definitely noticed a difference in my running. Hopefully I can take it again next year!

    Like

    • Jenni says:

      Thanks Morgan! Yeah I have been a long-time blog reader myself and finally took the plunge into the blog world about 2 months ago too. It’s certainly a challenge, but I am loving it!

      I am graduating in the Spring, so I am not sure what my fitness routine will look like next year. Guess I better take advantage of the free gyms here at school while it lasts!

      I love that you gave a book review on your blog – I am looking for a good book to read over Spring Break!

      Like

Leave a Reply

