Best-Ever Apple Cinnamon Stove Top Oats

So what happened to the sun? Seriously, where did it go??

I am so over these cloudy, cool, and drizzly mornings we’ve been having here in Madison. Give me back that sunny, 60-degree weather we had a few weeks ago. Or better yet, just give me summer!

Well since you can obviously tell I have not been enjoying the recent weather we’ve been having, let me tell you about something that I have been loving lately: breakfast.

Specifically, this bowl of oats.

oats and vanilla

 

Creamy, warm comfort in a bowl with notes of apples and cinnamon – plus a hint of vanilla, the secret ingredient that really makes this bowl! It’s the perfect boost I need in the morning on those dark, dreary, and ever so un-motivating days that just make me want to crawl back into bed. This bowl of oats will give you a reason to get up!

So you’re probably thinking, wow Jenni. It’s just a bowl of oatmeal – who even likes oatmeal anyways?

But this isn’t just your standard plain-Jane bowl of the beige stuff. I’ve had that before and it’s not my cup of tea. Oh no, this oatmeal is packed with a bit of sweetness, a little spice, and a whole lot of deliciousness – not to mention great nutrition!

opal apple

Fresh diced apple, along with unsweetened applesauce, act to naturally sweeten this bowl of oats. Any apple will do, but I have been loving Opals, a new-to-me variety that I picked up at Trader Joe’s!

It took me a while before I warmed up to the idea of eating oatmeal for breakfast. I just didn’t think it was that exciting and to be honest, it was always something I ate when I was sick or had a stomach ache.

But after becoming more interested in cooking and food, and getting acquainted with this lovely foodie blogosphere, that all changed. Before I knew it I was pinning all sorts of oatmeal concoctions from baked oatmeal to whipped banana oatmeal to egg white oatmeal (<— still need to try this one out) and oatmeal entered into my breakfast routine in many forms.

I generally whip up my oats in the microwave since it’s quick and that’s all I have in my tiny dorm room, but my favorite way to cook and enjoy my oats is via the good ol’ stovetop method. I took advantage of being at home last week on spring break and made my best batch yet.

The consistency is perfect, not too thin and not too thick. It’s sweet, a bit spicy, and ever so flavorful without adding a ton of sugar (you can thank the vanilla for that)! Plus, even using the stove, this hearty bowl of oats will be ready in less than 10 minutes.

So what do you say? Whip up this warm, creamy, healthy and wholesome bowl of oatmeal and wait out this seemingly never-ending cold weather with me. Trust me, it will make it better 😉

fruit and oatmeal brekkie

My bowl of oats alongside a sliced Asian pear and a handful of blackberries + my usual nanner. You know I can never get enough fresh fruit at brekkie – this combo kept me full and energized for hours!

Best-Ever Apple Cinnamon Stove Top Oats

Packed with hearty whole grains, sweet spices, plump raisins, juicy apples, and a hint of vanilla, this oatmeal makes for the perfect pick-me up on a cool, dreary morning or even on a chilly night – there’s nothing wrong with oatmeal for dinner if you ask me!

Ingredients:

¾ c water

¾ c low-fat milk, divided

½ c old fashioned (also called rolled) oats

1 T wheat bran*

¼ t salt (optional)

1 t cinnamon

½ t apple pie spice

2 T raisins (I love these jumbo ones from Trader Joes)

2 T golden raisins

½ apple, diced – leave the peel on! (I like opal, pink lady or gala, but any variety will work)

2 T unsweetened applesauce

1 t vanilla < — the secret ingredient, seriously, don’t leave this out

1 t honey (optional – add if you like a sweeter oatmeal)

Directions:

Bring water and ½ cup milk to a boil in a small saucepan. Stir in oats, wheat bran and salt if desired. Reduce heat to medium and cook for 4 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Stir in cinnamon, apple pie spice, raisins, golden raisins and diced apple. Continue to cook for 3 minutes longer.

Remove from heat and stir in remaining ¼ cup milk, applesauce, vanilla and honey if desired. Cover and let stand 2 minutes.

Pour into a bowl and dig in. I swear it’s like eating apple pie for breakfast 😉

*I used a combo of old fashioned rolled oats and wheat bran because I love the texture it adds to the oatmeal, plus the extra fiber it adds, but using all oats or oat bran instead of the wheat bran would work great too.

What are your favorite oatmeal toppings?

I love the apple-cinnamon combo, but am also a huge fan of peanut butter and banana too!

What’s your favorite way to eat oatmeal?

I love my stove top oats, but oven-baked oatmeal is right up there too!

Have you ever tried any egg-white oatmeal recipes? What did you think?

I want to try these out, but am just not sure I’d like it…lots of protein, but eggs in my oatmeal..?

One thought on “Best-Ever Apple Cinnamon Stove Top Oats

  1. Olivia Bane says:

    YUM, I love oatmeal so much and most days mine is pretty plain because it’s easier (but a lot more boring haha). I was actually going to post a similar recipe soon because I’ve been enjoying mixing it up! great minds thing alike 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

