Back on the Bloggin’ Train + a Recap

Hi!

Hello!

Yes, it’s me. For real. Like really, really.

melon truck.jpg

And yes, don’t worry I am still the same crazy, watermelon-obsessed, kitchen dwelling, and whole food eating gal πŸ˜‰

I know, I know…it’s been a while. Quite a while actually. Hmmmm…almost 11 months, heck that’s pert near a whole year!

How I let myself go that long without blogging, I do not know. But I do know that I am excited to be back!

So to catch y’all up, I thought I’d attempt to do a bit of a recap of my past year – if that’s even possible?

I’ll try not to make this a novel….but no promises πŸ˜‰

Okay, let’s rewind all the way back to May…

First off, this happened.

graduation

I graduated from college!!

smiling graduation

I spent four wonderful years of my life at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and couldn’t have asked for a better college experience. So many good times had, lessons learned, and lifelong friends made.

hofo friends

I graduated with a dual degree, earning a B.S. in Nutritional Sciences and completing the Didactic Program in Dietetics, along with a B.S. in Life Sciences Communication.

union chair graduation

On Wisconsin!

Post graduation, I embarked on a new journey which wound up being one of the greatest adventures and experiences of my life.

I packed up a few suitcases, loaded up the camper, and moved to Washburn, WI on the shores of Lake Superior.

bayfield lake view

Let me tell you – a view like this never gets old.

Washburn has pretty much been my ‘home away from home’ as my family has spent countless summer nights camping there ever since I can remember. I never wanted to leave and always dreamed of staying the whole summer, so when I began thinking about my post-grad plans I thought of nothing better than to make this dream come true.

I reserved my campsite, found a job I loved, and in May, a week after graduation, let my adventure begin!

camper

seasonal site sign

memorial park

Home. Sweet. Home.

I spent my days baking up a storm at The Fat Radish Market & Deli – a wonderful, little local place in neighboring Bayfield, WI. The hours were early and sometimes the days were long, but being able to do what I love and work with some amazing people was beyond worth it. Here’s a holla’ to my lovely Fat Radish fam!

fat radish

As the baker I made everything from loaves of bread and dozens of rolls, to the classic cookies and bars, to cakes, pies, and cheesecakes, and scones, turnovers and muffins – oh and a wedding cake – in addition to the restaurant, we also did A LOT of catering (which I really learned I like)!

Can you say ALL. THE. CAKES? πŸ™‚

blueb peach gallete

Plenty of pies, tarts, handpies, and galletes – all baked with fresh-picked Bayfield orchard produce!

pumpkn spice dinner rolls

These were SO GOOD… warm, buttery pumpkin spiced yeast rolls for the bread basket!

raspberry lemon tart

Lemon-raspberry custard tart

pumpkin sticky buns

Gooey, sticky pumpkin monkey bread

wedding cake

By far my favorite, yet most stressful baking project. I guess I can add wedding cake (and cupcake) baker to my resume πŸ˜‰

I could go on and on about my time at the Fat Radish – there are just too many good stories!

During my days and weekends off, friends and family often came to visit. Needless to say we took full advantage of summertime in the Northland. From hiking and biking to swimming and kayaking, along with taking them to all of my favorite spots, we could not get enough of the great outdoors – plus I loved having guests to show around!

hiking with anna

Hiking at Houghton Point

beach read

Some post-work, evening sun beach reading

cherry picking

Cherry picking adventures x 3. Couldn’t. Get. Enough.

blueberry picking

And some blueberry picking too!

delta diner trip

Made a few trips to the Delta Diner – a Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives favorite!

kayak

One of many Lake Superior kayak adventures!

fallon and franscesca

Some weekend hiking with my gals πŸ™‚

copper falls

A snapshot from a trip to Copper Falls State Park

hofo hike

Trailside selfie

daddio biking

Biking with the Daddio

turtle friend.jpg

Ran into this little guy on the trail!

Oh and then there was Apple Fest – Bayfield’s iconic festival celebrated every October in which 40,000+ tourists come from all over the world, yes the world!, to visit Bayfield orchards and feast on apple delicacies galore.

apple fest

Apple Fest craziness – I baked +100 pies and you’ll bet we sold every last one!

caramel apples

caramel apple

Th caramel apples were a fave too.

Sadly fall came too soon and before I knew it, it was the middle of October and the campground was set to close. I seriously pondered finding someplace to rent so I could stayΒ  in Washburn through the winter, but decided to return home for a few months while I worked on applying to Dietetic Internships (three cheers for DICAS!) and graduate school programs.

Right now I am back to baking as the baker for our local food co-op in town and am awaiting to hear from DI and grad programs soon – hopefully to start this fall! In the meantime I’ve been staying busy catching up with friends, testing new recipes, going on weekend adventures, and of course cheering on my Badger boys. #buzzerbeater

badgers win

Whoa – this is gettin’ a bit lengthy. So if you’re still with me and in my promise to not make this a novel…I’m gonna wrap things up with this:

The last 10 months since graduating college have been filled with exciting adventures, wonderful experiences, and many new friends – not to mention quite a bit of time in the kitchen πŸ™‚

I am so excited to be back in the bloggers seat and can’t wait to share my new adventures and kitchen creations with y’allΒ  – I hope you’ll join me for the ride!

It’s good to be back.

So tell me…

What have you been up to lately?

Any March Madness fans out there? What’s your favorite game time nosh?

I’m a popcorn gal myself πŸ™‚

 

 

One thought on “Back on the Bloggin’ Train + a Recap

Leave a Reply

