Summer Salad Obsessed.

Okay, I know it’s been a hot minute since I’ve posted despite being back on the blogging train, but I do have a good excuse.

That excuse is called SUMMER.

salad stuff

carrot + cuke + cauliflower + sweet bell pepper + edamame + kamut + bluebs + nectarine

 

And this summer, for me, was all about having fun, living in the moment, traveling, and soaking up every minute in the three months of my “I’m not working and probably will never have this much time off in my life again” summer.

So needless to say, blogging wasn’t exactly at the top of my priority list. Those spots were reserved for eating water melon on St. Simon’s Island, catching up with and visiting friends, soaking up mornings in Madison with the best pancakes I’ve ever eaten, spending two weeks camping at my favorite place on earth, conquering some amazing hikes, eating ice-cream and road tripping across 12 states in 10 days.

And let me tell you, it was the best.summer. ever.

But now it’s back to reality. Well actually a new reality for me —> hellooooo grad school!!

As amazing as my summer was, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t excited to get back to school- new friends, a fresh start and a whole new adventure awaits! And let’s face it, I always was “one of those kids”.

So granted, I’m sure when school starts (next week gah!) things will get busy and who knows when the next time I’ll be back here writing, but nevertheless I had the itch to write and I thought y’all deserved an update. Aaaaaand, perhaps most importantly, I wanted to share my most recent summer obsession.

summer salad 4

Summer salads.

I know, I know, not everyone is a salad person, but c’mon summertime produce is BOMB. And just begging to be the star of a salad. And cheap too!

corn and peaches

local peaches + candy corn + cukes

stawbs

upick // Bayfield berries ❀

 

Salads are a no-brainer during the summertime. They are easy, customizable, portable…plus they leave more room for ice-cream ;).

double fisting ice cream

oops. caught red-handed, double-fisting it πŸ˜‰

I’ve been riding this salad train ever since I ordered this salad when I was in Flagstaff, AZ. It was the best salad I’ve ever ordered out – super fresh, produce-packed and not to mention, served in a mixing bowl.

flagstaff salad

harvest salad // @ Lumberyard Brewing Co. Flagstaff, AZ

Back at home, after stocking up on a plethora of produce at the farmers’ market, I was inspired to create my own mixing bowl salad – and haven’t looked back. Seriously. I’ve been eating some version of this baby on repeat for the past two weeks.

summer salad 5

pretzels+ crackers+ extra carrots on the side (pardon the horrible iPhone photo)

My favorite recipe goes like this:

1.) place a few handfuls ofΒ  greens in a medium mixing bowl or large plate.

2) top with #allthesummertimeproduce.

3.) Add protein (i.e. grilled chicken, shrimp, edamame, kamut etc.) and dressing of choice.

4.) Sprinkle with something crunchy.

So yeah, it’s not really a recipe…

mixing bowl salad

My jam of as late has involved

  • spinach + iceberg
  • fresh sweet corn (cut off the cob)
  • edamame
  • kamut
  • carrots
  • cucumber
  • jicama
  • sliced nectarine/peach —> oh.em. gee. local peaches right now. #sogood
  • blueberries
  • sliced grapes
  • chicken/smoked turkey
  • sea salt almonds + pistachios + raw cashews

Basically the kitchen sink, but it’s delicious.

salad stuff 2

Fresh. Filling.Β  Local. Crunchy. Sweet. A bit salty too. And no, I never get bored because I’m always throwing something new in. Variety is the spice of life, ya know? πŸ˜‰

[Oh, and on an aside, I’ve never been a dressing girl, but this is my go-to recipe when I’m cooking for others. Super simple and flexible: 1/3 c olive oil + 1 T maple syrup/honey + 1 T of your favorite mustard + 1 T lemon juice + pinch of S & P ]

So, as I sign off, I send YOU off…go enjoy the rest of summer (and check out my newly updated about page)!

OH. and EAT SALAD! πŸ™‚

summer salad 6

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

